top of page
Search
  • Karina

How Did I Get Here?

Updated: Dec 2, 2019



When you decide you want to share a special gift that comes from within and place that energy into something more profound and rewarding there may be several ideas you can come up with. You first ask yourself many questions, allowing your options to take over your mind. You talk to other professionals, discuss it with friends and family because who knows you the best? You do your research and discover all the aha moments. For many years I wished I had gone another route in my professional career although all my careers were to help and provide service to those in need. I found working with elderly and thriving young students both brought me wisdom and patience from both ends of the spectrum. There was something missing, something I that I felt I haven't touched, well not exactly. Becoming a mother 1, 2 and a 3rd time all had similar yet different experiences. After the first time, I had this "Oh, I got this" attitude but I oh how quickly did I learn there was always something new, something different from the first and the second. Pregnancy is a challenge yet an experience that no one can rewrite the same over and over, this goes for birth and the delivery experience as well. Although I am grateful for healthy babies, if I could rewrite my delivery experience I would. I'd add more details, more compassion, more intimacy and make it more MY story rather than a page from a procedure manual perhaps written by those who have never given birth. Our bodies are made to do what they do and is not an assembly line or some type of machine where when you push a button it's supposed to operate. Discovering the Doula practice, what better way to help other moms feel completely supported with no judgement, no manufactured procedure practiced on every other person that has walked down the path of birth. Only providing nothing but the art of touch, compassion and mental support during such a pivotal time and moment.



10 views0 comments
bottom of page